Home for Spring Break

Today is the first full day that I’ve been home (I got back late last night). After a leisurely morning I went on a 25 mile bike ride along the Bay Trail. Bay Trail means all flat–but it was to get out and enjoy the sunshine! Then I went to REI, to make sure that I estimated my size correctly for the wonderful Osprey back that Osprey generously donated to the climb! The good news, it fits perfectly and it’s REALLY comfortable. Tomorrow I am going on a hike with a friend and not only will it be great to see her; but, I can A) try out the new pack and B) I get continue to train!

In case you are wondering why I’m climbing:

My motivation to climb is both personal and directly linked to my academic passions.

One in eight women is diagnosed with breast cancer in their lifetime. That’s a lot of people! As of 2006, more than 2.5 million U.S. women were living with a breast cancer diagnosis. When I first told people that I was interested in climbing Mt. Shasta to support the Breast Cancer Fund, almost everyone responded with “my aunt, my mom, my friend, my neighbor, etc. has or had breast cancer.”

The issue is near and dear to my heart. My mom’s family has a history of breast cancer–my mom’s mom died of ovarian cancer when my mom was about my age. My mom has undergone two surgeries to counteract her genetic predisposition to the disease. And her sister, my aunt, has stage 4 breast cancer. My aunt is one of the strongest and most optimistic people I know. I am climbing in honor of her strength and courage and in memory of the grandmother I never met.

After my mom climbed Mt. Shasta in 2012 with the Breast Cancer Fund, I joined the Breast Cancer Fund as an intern. This experience taught me a tremendous amount about the many environmental causes of breast cancer, and gave me a chance to be a part of an organization working to prevent the disease. Their work exposed the horror that is bisphenol A (BPA), a now-known carcinogen and endocrine disruptor, commonly found in plastics and canned food linings. The Breast Cancer Fund is doing incredible work and I am excited to be climbing with them and raising money so their work can continue and breast cancer can be prevented. Interning at the Breast Cancer Fund has been a wonderful experience and has been a great way for me to combine two of my passions––environmental and social justice. So the Breast Cancer Fund allows me to combine my passions with a group of people doing great work!

Between now and June, I’m training to climb 14,179-foot Mt. Shasta in Northern California. At the same time, I’m fundraising in support of the Breast Cancer Fund’s groundbreaking work to prevent breast cancer by eliminating our exposure to toxic chemicals and radiation linked to the disease.

I am asking you to support my climb with a tax-deductible donation. All donations go toward supporting the Breast Cancer Fund?s mission “to expose and eliminate the environmental causes of breast cancer.” No donation is too small and every donation will put me one step closer to my goal of $6,000.

With each donation of $100 or more, I will carry a prayer flag with me to fly on the top of Mt. Shasta in honor or in memory of a loved one. In the Tibetan tradition, prayer flags fly from the housetops, trees, and in mountain passes–wherever the wind can catch and carry their message of hope throughout the world.

To donate click the image on the right hand corner with the Breast Cancer Fund’s logo. You will be redirected to my fundraising page.

Thank you for your support.

One response to “Home for Spring Break”

  1. madviolist says :

    Go Aviva! So great to have you home again.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

